Kubica to leave hospital on long journey to recovery

Posted on April 22, 2011

1


Robert Kubica hopes to leave hospital within 10 days, according to a new interview released by his Lotus Renault team.

Kubica faces a long period of rehab after his accident. Credit: Lotus Renault

The Pole has been out of action since a horrific accident in February which left him with terrible injuries to his right hand, arm and leg.

The highly rated driver has been in hospital in Italy since the horror smash in a rally car and has undergone a number of surgeries in an attempt to repair the damage. No prognosis for Kubica’s return to Formula One has been given – though he pledges to come back “as strong as he possibly can.”

Kubica said: “I am starting to feel a lot better now. My recovery is moving in the right direction: my strength and weight are increasing day on day and as a result I will leave the Santa Corona hospital very soon.

“I don’t have a precise date as yet but I hope to be able to leave within the next 10 days.

“The mobility of my hand is limited but this is pretty normal in this kind of situation, because the connected arm muscles are still very weak due to the long period of immobility. Things are definitely improving day by day.

“As soon as I leave hospital, I’ll head to my home in Monaco for a short period of rest. Then I’ll move to Dr. Ceccarelli’s facilities in Italy where I will start a deep rehabilitation program and a preliminary soft training programme. The two programmes will gradually cross over based on the speed of my recovery.”

Nick Heidfeld took Kubica’s seat at Lotus Renault and scored one of the team’s two podium finishes in Malaysia this season.

Posted in: Formula One, News